DomestiKatedLife

A Boston-Based Lifestyle Blog

A tale of two nightstands.

Finally getting around to sharing the first of my Brimfield refurbishment projects! The story of my nightstands is a long and excruciating one. To start, I searched for nightstands to fit in the small nooks next to my bed for weeks on craigslist to no avail. At Brimfield though, I magically happened upon two matching nightstands, that fit my measurement requirements, and were only $20 each! Here’s what they looked like before:

They needed some love and some new paint and hardware. I found the perfect color, Glidden’s French Grey, and scored an amazing deal on some knobs at anthropologie. I fell for the intricate carvings and worn ivory texture of the knobs. They were perfect! (Or so I thought).

After painting the nightstands, and adding on the hardware — I was, to put it lightly, devastated with the outcome. From far away (as in — at the end of the bed), the knobs looked like unfinished wood and made the grey paint look much more like a blue. They had a shabby-chic-country look and that wasn’t my intention at all.

After some deliberation (and whining and moaning) I settled on changing out the hardware to see if I could “save” the look. I’ve admired ring pulls before and decided to bite the bullet and order them:

The result? A total save — I’m so happy with the new hardware. The grey looks more grey, and the nightstands no longer look like $20 outcasts!

8 responses to “A tale of two nightstands.

  1. Becca August 16, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    That looks fantastic – the knobs were beautiful, but not right for the piece. Great decision!

    Becca

  2. Brandi August 16, 2010 at 1:17 pm

    These turned out great, what a save! I just hate when things don’t go as planned. I’m sure you can find somewhere else to use the anthro knobs but I love the pulls you got!

  3. Miss B. August 16, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    I love that you saved them:) I am eyeballing some pulls of my own, it looks so pulled together, good job!

  4. pitcherandthepearl August 16, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    I of course LOVE the anthro knobs and the country look it had, but I also love those ring pulls, they are so much more you and they look really elegant. nice work!

  5. my favorite and my best August 17, 2010 at 8:38 am

    whew! that shit happens to me all the time!
    the ring pulls are fantastic!

  6. movitabeaucoup August 17, 2010 at 11:15 am

    Really sweet.

  7. Paige January 9, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    Im a new reader and I am loving your blog! I have been searching for a nightstand that I then want to paint for some time, when I saw this post I was wondering if you had any tips for painting furniture?

Leave a Reply

