DomestiKatedLife

A Boston-Based Lifestyle Blog

Before and After: Jewelry Armoire

I kept my promise and reworked the old toolbox I bought at Brimfield  into a glamorous jewelry armoire last week. I can’t wait to share the “after” pictures, but first, let’s revisit the “before” picture of the rusty old tool box (this picture doesn’t do it justice, it was pretty banged up and dirty):

After hours of sanding down rust with steel wool (lots of help from a loving boyfriend) and several coats of spray paint later, I have to say, I’m a bit obsessed with how it turned out:

I’m mostly excited because I can’t believe how organized all of my accessories are now! There’s a little surprise on the inside, hot pink felt lining to keep my necklaces from rattling around in the metal drawers:

And to corral all of the teeny-tiny bits of baubles I spray painted an egg crate to match the metal.

It was quite the facelift — from holding to wrenches to cocktail rings!

17 responses to “Before and After: Jewelry Armoire

  1. Becca September 2, 2010 at 11:35 am

    Looks awesome! I love the felt.

  2. Belly September 2, 2010 at 11:42 am

    Gorgeous! I love the egg crate detail.

  3. Jaime @ La vie...J'aime September 2, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    AMAZING wow. I want that exact piece!!!

  4. Christine September 2, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    AMAZING transformation, I would die for all that storage!

  5. Pink Wallpaper September 2, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    So cute!! what a great idea!

  6. Crazy Agnus September 2, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    This is amazing! Thanks for sharing a great idea!

  7. Colleen September 3, 2010 at 9:08 am

    Love it! Now Griffin can’t rattle anything in the middle of the night!

  8. Chic for Cheap September 3, 2010 at 10:18 am

    Now you have an excuse to buy more jewels!

  9. Design Darling September 3, 2010 at 11:10 am

    I’m obsessed! You did such a great job.

  10. Brandi September 3, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    This looks so amazing! Great idea to use the felt and the egg crate. You should submit this to design sponge before and after. Great job!

  11. JEN RAMOS September 22, 2010 at 12:47 am

    WOW….sooo beautiful! :)))))))))))

  12. Carmie of the Single Nester September 28, 2010 at 6:50 pm

    Just divine! You have a good eye for something that I probably would have passed by.

  13. Johanna September 29, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    Wow…I love this. Genius.

  14. S.E.Minegar January 26, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    Amazing work. Very impressive and very chic!

    🙂

  15. jillian November 5, 2013 at 10:07 am

    Hello! I love this color and would like to use on my own armoire. Do you remember the type of spray paint and color? Thanks much!

Leave a Reply

