DomestiKatedLife

A Boston-Based Lifestyle Blog

Summer Essentials with Hello, Splendor

I’m very excited to have some fabulous guest bloggers this week sharing summer essentials for their favorite travel destinations. Next up is Beth of Hello, Splendor and she’s sharing some adorable essentials for a trip to Ocean City, New Jersey. Welcome Beth!

Ocean City, New Jersey is one of my favorite places on earth. It’s full of memories for me, since I grew up going there every weekend in the summers. Now, we just make the trip out once a year. If you find a place to stay close to the boardwalk, you never have to get in the car and go anywhere.
There is so much entertainment, from the beach, to the boardwalk, to the places to eat and places to shop. You just can’t get bored! For me it’s perfect because it blends the best of both worlds: high-energy fun from the boardwalk at night and the peaceful serenity of the beach during the day. Here are my Ocean City summer essentials….
WEAR – Susan Posnick COLORFLO – This mineral foundation keeps you vacay-photo ready with incredible coverage & SPF 26 for incredible sun protection. The packaging makes it perfect for traveling and tossing in your purse or beach bag!
READ – I’ve recently discovered kindle for iPhone! My books have been tagging along with me everywhere I go. Right now, I’m losing myself in a quick and easy read with the Vampire Academy series. Yes, I’m a grown woman, but when I’m on vacation I just need something silly & easy to get lost in. I just love it!!
EATShrivers has the best salt water taffy on the boardwalk. It’s definitely a nostalgic experience since I grew up as a kid visiting the boardwalk every weekend.
Shriver's Salt Water Taffy, 9th & Boardwalk, Ocean City, New Jersey, August 27, 2005
RIDE – The ride piers are so much fun! It’s like a permanent carnival with rides for children & adults. The ferris wheel is one of my favorite things to ride since you get an amazing view of the boardwalk, the ocean, and you can even see Atlantic City from the top. It’s just peaceful and playful all at once.
DRIVE – The morning surrey rides are just the best! You get to take in the ocean air and get a look at the gorgeous ocean view. We usually ride to a breakfast stop for a morning cup of coffee & eggs.
CAPTURE – Every year we get the Old Time Photos done as a family. It’s fun to see the kids grow and see who as a family was there. This year, we just got Max’s picture taken… Such a little Al Capone, don’t you think?!
Kate, thanks so much for having me! I hope you get a chance to visit ‘down the shore’. It’s the most amazing place on earth!
Images via Hello, Splendor

3 responses to “Summer Essentials with Hello, Splendor

  1. Julip Made June 23, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    Love Beth and the text of this post, but the images don’t seem to be appearing..

  2. Local Hem June 23, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    LOVE OCNJ! That’s the beach I grew up at too. I saw the word “surrey” when scrolling down your blog and had to double-take 🙂

  3. Carrie June 23, 2011 at 8:40 pm

    Loving this series, great timing as well.

Leave a Reply

