DomestiKatedLife

A Boston-Based Lifestyle Blog

Summer Entertaining Essentials with Long Distance Loving.

Some of my favorite bloggers are sharing their summer entertaining essentials for being a savvy hostess this season, up next in the series is my Boston buddy, {av} from {long distance loving}!
Hello there! I’m {av} from {long distance loving}–and I am so honored to appear on the pages of DomestiKatedLife today! In keeping with her summer entertaining theme, I focused on a summer staple: backyard brews. Everyone knows that an ice-cold beer is the perfect treat after a long, hot day, but it takes a great hostess to find a way to make this simple treat special…
During the summer I lived in France, I discovered a super refreshing drink known simply as the Monaco. The recipe? Two parts beer + one part lemon-lime soda + a splash of grenadine. For those of you beer purists out there, this may sound a bit strange…but trust me, any woman who says she doesn’t drink beer will drink one of these sweet treats. Beer can be a pretty cocktail after all!
To help you win the best backyard on the block, an endless supply of sunscreen wipes and a basket of flip flops will certainly help your cause. Serving anything out of a paper straw ups the ante as well! These coffee-esque beer mugs {on super preppy coasters} take a fun twist on your normal beer glasses. The pièce de résistance, however, is the endless supply of Monacos {or whatever you like} in your glass footed beverage dispenser.
I hope you enjoyed this summery round-up–many thanks again to Kate for having me today!
xoxo {av} | {long distance loving}

4 responses to “Summer Entertaining Essentials with Long Distance Loving.

  1. Jaime G. (@laviejaime) July 5, 2012 at 1:28 pm

    Love the monogram dispenser!

  2. {av} | {long distance loving} July 5, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    thank you so so much for having me, Kate! xoxo {av}

  3. All Things Luxurious (@MariaMorley) July 5, 2012 at 3:51 pm

    What a great post! I love those straws and that cocktail idea! I’m not a beer-drinker, but I would love to try this recipe out! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  4. EvG July 25, 2012 at 10:53 am

    When I was in India with Simon we saw a couple ask for grenadine to pour in their beer and it blew our mind! Glad to know it’s an actual cocktail. Neat!

Leave a Reply

